I've been playing the guitar for almost 3 years, and I want to expand my interest in music to other instruments such as the piano and drums. I'm just curious that through constant practice with the piano, guitar, and drums would it help me improve my skill as a guitarist? Like drums would improve rhythm, piano, finger coordination etc. I would still practice guitar regularly, its something i can't give up, but im just curious if learning other instruments would help me improve as a guitarist. I'm not saying im learning the other instruments just because i wanna be better at guitar, i really love music and this is just a question of curiosity.
Thanks ^^
Gear:
Guitar
Typhoon Guitar
Ibanez RG350DX WH
Amps
Typhoon 10w amp
Peavy Vypyr 15w
POD Studio UX2
Piano definitely helps... more with theory than anything.
drums are fun to play and good to know how to, but I dont think they help with guitar, but maybe it does help rythym and coordination.
GUITARS
Burswood Acoustic
Squier Affinity Strat
Fender Tele Deluxe
BASS
Ibanez Jetking bass
AMPS
Marshall MG30DFX
Peavey max 158 bass amp
Fender Bassman 250
1979 Carvin of some sort
And some pedals
They would definitely help you. I play guitar, piano, drums, some bass, and sing. I started on piano and drums and without that background I wouldn't be half the guitarist I am today. Drums help mostly with identifying rhythm patterns and keeping a beat, both of which are much needed in guitar. Piano can help take a different look at the same notes and look at different ways to manipulate them. Plus if you ever want to play music with others in a band, having that experience is extremely useful.
Guitar, bass, mandolin, bongos and didgeridu. You just play whatever you have an interest in and have a good time doing it - that's whats most important.
Gibson Les Paul BFG Gator
Line6 James Tyler Variax JTV-69
Line6 Pod HD500
Blackheart Handsome Devil
Yes, it really will help you out!