Kind of as a spin off of my last thread about a few 6 strings, could you guys help me out by sharing some experiences of a few 5 strings? Basiclly, I've decided 5s would be better for me that 6, but I digress...

The options I'm considering are:
Fender Deluxe Active Jazz V
Ibanez SR505
2 slightly different basses by a brand called "HK"

The HK's sound like good value (I'll give some specs in a minute), but I have no experience with them, where as I know the Ibanez is good. Also, I'm not sure how the Fender here compares to the only Fender Jazz V I could try - a Standard.

The HK specs are both similar - both have 2 active Kent Armstrong soap bar pickups, 3 band active EQ, a maple through neck w/rosewood stripes, a 24 fret ebony fretboard and Wilkinson hardware. The more expesive of the 2 has a mahogany body w/ masurpop top. The cheaper one has a plain finnished walnut body.

So, what are your thoughts? Much appreciated.
Obligatory gear list
Guitars
Ibanez SZ4020 w/BKP Miracle Man set
Cort X-11 w/EMG 85+81
Tanglewood TSB58 HB w/BKP Nailbomb & Cold Sweat
Epiphone SG Prophecy w/Seymour Duncan/Ibz
Basses
Indie Swamp 4
Ibanez BTB 775 PB
Amps
Engl Screamer 50
When in doubt, Fender out. Best basses I've ever played.
BASSES

Yamaha RBX270L Custom Fretless
Traben Tribal Sun 5 L
Fender Custom Jazz Bass L

EFFECTS

BOSS DD-7
BOSS OC-3
BOSS RC-2
BOSS TU-2
Tech 21 Sans Amp Bass Driver DI

AMP

Yorkville XM200 Combo
I love the sr505 very much. Both the jazz and the ibanez are great options though. I would try them out, since both feel vastly different. The ibanez has a thinner neck, as a result of a tighter string spacing. It makes it harder to slap on. Both are good choices, so it comes down to feel.
Can you try out the HK's? Try before you buy, my friend.
Current Gear:
Michael Kelly Club Custom 5 Acoustic Bass
Dean Performer Series PE-QM-TGE
Varrios Basic 5 Bass
Acoustic B450 Combo Amp
I support the 2nd Amendment. I don't support people who abuse it.