Hey guys,

So I've been trying to play songs on my own, and many of them (with practice) becomes easier, but there is this one type of piece I have trouble playing.

So, I guess this is goodbye - I AM GHOST:
|--------------------------------------------------------------------|
|-13-13-13-13-13-13-13-13-16-16-16-16-16-16-16-16-|
|--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x-x-x-x-x-x-x|
|-11-11-11-11-11-11-11-11-14-14-14-14-14-141-4-14-|
|---------------------------------------------------------------------|

As you see I am not supposed to play the 3rd String. Whenever I try playing it, it sounds really retar....not so good. It doesn't have the "sound" as you hear on the songs, its more light, or muffled (hard to explain, its doesnt just sound right)

Probably I am holding the strings wrong, since it is my first time playing this type of piece.
Have you ever played power chords? Play those but mute the middle string.
1. You're surfing the internet.
2. You're browsing through the UG forums.
3. You're reading now.
5. You didn't notice that there was no #4.
6. You just checked it.
7. Now you're having a lil smile.

Quote by hawk_kst
You Sir, have the best signature like ever!
ahhhh. first off, these are called octaves. they are the same note, just one of them is an "octave" above. hence the name. to play these take your first finger, and put it on the lowest note. and your third finger on the high note. use your first finger to deaden the middle string by lightly barring it. Ok. hope tht helps.
cig
Quote by tsoldier24
Hey guys,

So I've been trying to play songs on my own, and many of them (with practice) becomes easier, but there is this one type of piece I have trouble playing.

So, I guess this is goodbye - I AM GHOST:
|-13-13-13-13-13-13-13-13-16-16-16-16-16-16-16-16-|
|--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x--x-x-x-x-x-x-x|
|-11-11-11-11-11-11-11-11-14-14-14-14-14-141-4-14-|
|---------------------------------------------------------------------|