Ive been playing guitar for 2 years and want to buy a new guitar and a new amp.
Im currently playing through an american fender stratocaster and a vox valvetronix ad15vt amp.
I play metal, rock, blues and such...
With my current amp and guitar I cant get that heavy sound that I want for metal.
Ive been planning on selling my amp and buying a new one, and, buying a new guitar that sound more metalll :p
I have a budget of 1250$

Any suggestions?
i'd keep the guitar but put new pickups in it. That way you can get a heavy sound out of an already high quality guitar for around 200 bucks. With the amp and that budget i'd get the Bugera 6262, or a carvin V3. I'd really look at the v3 if I were you, awesome, awesome amp.
buy a new amp.

Don't bother changing your pickups until after you do that.

With that budget you can get just about anything btw.

What kind of sound are you looking for? (metal is a very broad term, what kind? death? metalcore? 80's? Shred? Power?)

Also, what country do you live in and what is the nearest major city to you?
Last edited by rlheart at Dec 23, 2009,
Get a bucker on your strat, unless you absolutely want to keep that single-coil in the bridge.
Quote by Kumanji
The only thing that matters in music these days is money - genuinely talented artists are passed over entirely or corraled into making non-offensive, non-threatening average music that sells.
The Bugera 6262 should give you a good start with the heavier tone. I just bought one a couple of days ago and it's awesome. A noise gate is a must with that, though.
Gear:

Guitars: Ibanez SV5470F, Ibanez Xpt700, Fender MIM Standard Stratocaster ('04-'05), Jackson Ps-2
Ashton AG200,
Amps: ENGL E530, Bugera 6262-212,
FX: TC Electronics G-major 2, Behringer EQ700, Morley Volume / Wah
As far as it goes with metal, I listen to metallica, megadeth, pantera, disturbed and also some melodic death such as in flames and all that remains.
what about some guitar suggestions?