This is going to be a bit long, but here goes (and please don't give me the replies of "oh go learn your major scales and minor scales some more" that shit just gets old and boring and I need more stimulation that that same ole boring drill)

OK here we go.
I am getting into modes and really wanting to understand, I am self taught and I rely on youtube alot to get the theory over to me, but have yet to find a good video on modes that really gives you an idea of how to use them and make them sound good. Usually its just some doucher running through the modes in G or something and thats about all they tell you. Reading text sometimes is hard to explain when they use a lot of proper terms so I like videos for that reason. However I know sometimes there is just no easy way around it and you need to read a bit. Now I have a scale book as most people do and it will give you this sort of stuff, lets talk about C since in the key of C there are no flats or sharps.

C Major (Ionian)
C Minor (Aeolian)
C Dorian
C Phrygian
C Lydian
C Mixolydian
C Locrian
(that is how the book will have it set up)

Now I've also seen it like this

C Ionian 1st degree of the scale
D Dorian 2nd
E Phrygian 3rd
F Lydian 4th
G Mixolydian 5th
A Aeolian 6th
B Locrian 7th

So my intuition tells me that if you are playing over C you could use the A Aeolian over it for a darker feel since it obviously is just the minor scale. Is that how this would work? I wouldn't want to try to use C aeolian over a C chord correct?

Now I think the worst part about trying to understand modes is when people talk about the "tonal center" because it is hard to find good lessons on this as well (it feels like its just some mystical thing people just know). If the tonal center of a rhythm changes is that another way of saying a KEY change? Or does changing the tonal center mean you are still playing in C but instead you are now resolving to different note such as D rather than C???