Hey all, just bought an ISP Decimator off some guy and I think he might have pulled one on me. I'm running a TS9 as well and I'm running into problems

1) It sounds like crap, and no matter where I dial it it still sounds bad, and it sounds even more bad when I touch it. Sounds like a robot pissing from his ass after eating hot peppers
2) The back of the chain, Guitar >>>ISP>>>TS9>>>>Amp? or Guitar>>>>TS9>>>>ISP>>>>Amp?
3) It might be these 8 dollar piece of crap patch cords I bought, but I can't be too sure.
4) I'm really pissed I might have just gotten shit on and down 100 bucks cuz this pedal is balls. I REALLY hope I'm just a noob with this ISP, help appreciated.
1979 YEAR OF THE HURRICANE BABY!
GSP Rush

GEAR (What I am currently using)
Guitar
Dimebag Darrell Signature ML
Amp
Peavey 5150 II
Cab
Orange PPC 412
Pedal(s)
Ibanez TS9 TubeScreamer
ISP Decimator
Heeelp!
GSP Rush

Guitar
Amp
Peavey 5150 II
Cab
Orange PPC 412
Pedal(s)
Ibanez TS9 TubeScreamer
ISP Decimator
battery or adaptor powered?

Open it up and check it's not damaged, the battery clip isn't touching the casing, etc, etc.
If video games make you violent, does monopoly make you a millionaire?
I would definately put it at the end of the chain...I've got mine in the effects loop. But yeah, check the obvious first, is anything broken and is the battery good? Power it with an adaptor if you can cause it's gonna be on almost constantly so you don't wanna eat through batteries
Guitars: PRS Custom 24, PRS EG3, PRS Santana SE, PRS Tremonti SE, ESP-LTD M-200FM

Acoustics: Maton EM225C, Washburn WD-42S, Ovation Tangent

Amps: Peavey 5150 Mk 1, Randall V2, Marshall JCM2000 DSL100

Cab: Framus FR212
Its usually at the end of the chain, or just after a pedal where you're getting a lot of noise from. There are some people who put it in the effects loop just to tame the noise coming from the preamp (yes, I know its not a G-string, but it can still be used there).