Hi all

I started playing guitar about 3 years ago, but never had lessons or followed any structured programme of learning to play guitar. As a result (as well as general laziness), I've not progressed very far... I want to change that, and do it right this time.

I can play a good few misc guitar riffs from a lot of songs I like, mostly power chord type of rubbish. I know the basic open chords and can remember a few barre chords, but really I'm pretty mediocre. I have a Fender Squier and an amp, but I will eventually get a better guitar (once I'm actually good enough to justify the purchase!).

I can put about 15-20 minutes into practising each day, fairly consistently (any more than that, and I get tired - poor health).

My initial goal is to be good enough to play in the church band (not exactly aiming very high there). After that I plan to work up to playing some music that I really enjoy, like: Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Guns and Roses, Velvet Revolver and some Queen(the guitar parts) , Muse and Hendrix.

Can you guys offer any advice, and/or good websites to systematically learn guitar? I saw the 'Justin Guitar' website, is that any good?

Thanks in advance
Play along with songs you know and try to play them perfectly to improve sloppiness. Record yourself to hear any mistakes and improve off that.

I dont see why not to start playing music you like now, it will motivate you to practice and learn. Nirvana is easy, start with that

edit: also focus on using good technique, it helps you improve much faster
Quote by WantsLesPaul
I get such a big rush from downloading torrents that I just have to cum all over my face right at that moment.