I'll be buying a guitar soon, and having in mind that I'm a total noob to the instrument, I'd very much appreciate some good advice on what guitar to get. I intend on learning to play mostly metal, but also not limit myself to a "metal-only" guitar seeing as I'd play some other shit aswell. A strat came to mind first, but through a little research I found out that ibanezes are most suited for some good black riffing, but I have no idea what model I should consider etc...somewhere in the range of 1000$.

Thanks in advance...
Umm I'd suggest you skip this thread and go to your local guitar store and start playing as many models as you can. And then come back here post your experiences and probably try to pin point a guitar you want to actually buy instead of stuff we secretly want.
Quote by azn_guitarist25
Umm I'd suggest you skip this thread and go to your local guitar store and start playing as many models as you can. And then come back here post your experiences and probably try to pin point a guitar you want to actually buy instead of stuff we secretly want.

+1
Quote by Led Dirigible
Crickets have too much high end for my tastes. I prefer a nice beetle, lots of warm low end.

tl;dr put a beetle in your amp for superior toanz.

Guitars: Schecter C-1 Classic
Westfeild LP e4500
Amp: Vox AD15VT
If you're just starting playing the guitar I'd go with something cheap for the start. My first guitar cost a hundred bucks at eBay, some no name thingy just to learn the basic chords. Bought a Stratocaster about a year later when I was an "advanced" guitar player.
Quote by Hildesheimer
If you're just starting playing the guitar I'd go with something cheap for the start. My first guitar cost a hundred bucks at eBay, some no name thingy just to learn the basic chords. Bought a Stratocaster about a year later when I was an "advanced" guitar player.

I don't recommend doing this

The $100 stuff you get is pretty terrible,