K, heres my situation...

For a few years now i have had my guitar; a nice simple beginners one - Squier Strat by Fender.
All I've done really is learn how to play songs already written, and I've learned different styles of songs. So i am reasonable in the techniques field.

However I feel something big is holding me back as a musician, I dont understand the theory.

Ive been studying it for months but i can't grasp it.

I have always wanted to be able to improvise some awesome acoustic solo, or maybe a chord prog, but i dont understand the theory.

Any help or directions would be appreciated, but dont tell me to buy a book. Done that.
Is
My
Signature Or
What?
Well this website has a good thread for theory. Scales are basically how you would improvise an acoustic solo, and are the basics of how to make a good chord progression. The crusade is a series of articles on this site that I would recommend you read(and take notes). Good luck.
thanks bud, ive had a quick look with searchbar, and im not having much luck.
Links please?
Is
My
Signature Or
What?
You're being pretty vague as to what you do and don't know. You must know something, right? Any basic theory suggestions you may get would be pretty much the same as reading a book. So if you already did that and it didn't work, we're pretty much left with a blank slate here. Something seems to be holding you back from understanding.

Anyway, check this site out if you want something practical and specific to jamming and improvising. It includes backing tracks to jam along with, which is pretty hands-on. Fretjam.com

Try to elaborate on where your understanding ends. Otherwise you're setting yourself up for a possible bombardment of theory from a dozen different people here which could confuse you and discourage you even more.

Good luck
Quote by STE 969
K, heres my situation...

For a few years now i have had my guitar; a nice simple beginners one - Squier Strat by Fender.