i'm new to electric guitar, having only played acoustic for a short short while (simple chord progressions, easy songs like "wonderwall" etc.) and have encountered some problems

my guitar sounds horrible, and assuming i've tuned it correctly (standard tuning), i don't know what the problem is. i have two audio clips: one of me strumming every string together, then each one separately

http://www.tindeck.com/listen/vqvr
http://www.tindeck.com/listen/ykxz

if i AM tuned correctly, what could be the problem? maybe i'm simply not? i dunno, but i feel like something is definitely WAY off. i'm not using any effects or anything

any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance. i also apologize if the answer is obvious
Last edited by happywanderer at Dec 26, 2009,
You're not tuned correctly.
Fender Classic Player 60s Strat
Washburn HB35
PRS Santana SE
Yamaha Pacifica 112MX
Vox AD30VT
Fender Champion 600
Dunlop wah
Danelectro Cool Cat fuzz
Quote by 5kuzgib
You're not tuned correctly.

what could i be doing wrong? i'm not doing it by ear, i'm doing it with an electronic tuner and everything SEEMS to match up. though i notice that even after i tune, let's say, the low e string, after i've wrapped up tuning everything else, i'll go back and it'll seem out of tune again
Quote by happywanderer
what could i be doing wrong? i'm not doing it by ear, i'm doing it with an electronic tuner and everything SEEMS to match up. though i notice that even after i tune, let's say, the low e string, after i've wrapped up tuning everything else, i'll go back and it'll seem out of tune again

Do you use a relatively cheap starter's guitar? Those tend to go out of tune rather quickly.
didn't just change my strings, but it is a cheap starter guitar (fender)

maybe i just don't know how to work the electronic tuner?? somehow i doubt this given its straightforward nature...