So basically a friend wants to take up guitar, and has asked me to teach him the basics and a few songs. He'll then go on to a better guitarist so he can learn some harder stuff
When I heard basics I thought the common chords like E, Em, C, Cm etc...So i figured I'd teach him that...

I'll just ask the question now
This is my first time teaching someone and I don't know what to teach him, can you guys give some advice for what to teach?

Thanks in advance
They made me do push ups in drag

I'm gonna have a really hard time if we're both cannibals and racists.

Don't dress as a whore, he'll thump you.

I'm a firework, primed to go off
Last edited by padgea7x at Dec 27, 2009,
Chords are a good start, but be sure to teach him some songs with those chords as well otherwise it might get really boring.

Also, basic finger exercises to practice finger stretching, and a few simple melody runs. I suggest Fluorescent Adolescent by the arctic monkeys for such a run, it's easy and still fun to play.
Quote by padgea7x
So basically a friend wants to take up guitar, and has asked me to teach him the basics and a few songs. He'll then go on to a better guitarist so he can learn some harder stuff
When I heard basics I thought the common chords like E, Em, C, Cm etc...So i figured I'd teach him that...
I'll just asl the question straight now
This is my first time teaching someone and I don't know what to teach him, can you guys give some advice for what to teach?
Thanks in advance

I would go for the musical alphabet first. Teach him how there's only 12 notes and how they repeat themselves all over the fretboard. For a start. He might find that boring, or not, some people want to be able to play some kind of tune immediately, so try teaching him some simple chord progression where he can see how some of those 12 notes appear regularly.
^ seconded (the alphabet)
i'd then go with scales just so he knows why chords are made up of what they are