I've noticed that I like playing without a pick most times. I like the sound I get out of my guitar better that way, always have since I started playing. I just use my index and thumb finger pressed together like I would if I had a pick in my fingers and play that way. Is there a huge disadvantage to playing like this? I can play with a pick just fine, I just don't really like the sound I get and I've tried many different types (thickness and such) of picks.
Laguna 422-HE
Peavey Vypyr 15
Line 6 Pocket POD
(Slowly getting back into the groove )
It will be a disadvantage with speed picking.... but if you like the sound of it then just try to work with it.

You know find ways around it to make everything work for you.

If you like it then it can just be your playing style.... i don't see why not
Learn the proper Finger technique. I play with a pick & without one and it's fun.

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/fingerpick.html
A good song should make you wanna tap your foot and get with your girl. A great song should destroy cop cars and set fire to the suburbs. I'm only interested in writing great songs.
Quote by ChrisrMS
I've noticed that I like playing without a pick most times. I like the sound I get out of my guitar better that way, always have since I started playing. I just use my index and thumb finger pressed together like I would if I had a pick in my fingers and play that way. Is there a huge disadvantage to playing like this? I can play with a pick just fine, I just don't really like the sound I get and I've tried many different types (thickness and such) of picks.

You mean like pick attack? Or just overall tone? Because if it's tone, you can make it sound like your finger-picking with certain pedals...
Quote by theogonia777
and then there's free jazz, which isn't even for musicians.

Quote by Born A Fool