Just got a MXR KFK 10-band EQ pedal and I've been fooling around with it for a little bit. I'm a novice so the bands are a little confusing to me. I'm running this with a tube screamer through a RG50TC. My question is, how should the setup go? Amp-tube-EQ-guitar or Amp-EQ-tube-guitar?

Also, any recommendations on how to set the EQ pedal? I mainly play prog metal and I'm currently trying to learn Godhead's lament from Opeth. Thanks.
ESP Horizon NT-II
Schecter Omen 6/AHB-1
Randall RG50TC
TS9/808 Plus Mod
MXR KFK 10-band EQ
Those your amp have a FX loop? Because if it does, put the EQ in the loop.
Peavey 3120
Mesa 2x12 Rectifier Cabinet
Jackson RR5
Jackson DKMG
LTD EC-1000
TC Electronic Polytune
BOSS RV-5
BOSS DD-7
MXR 10-band EQ
EHX Small Clone
Dunlop 535Q Crybaby
BOSS NS-2
Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2+
Depends on what you want to use it for. I have mine right after my guitar and before my distortion set with a mid boost and the bass pulled down to tighten up the low end before distortion then on my amp cut a bit of mids and boost the bass and treble. That setup works great for a good high gain metal sound.

If you put it in the fx loop then try something more like a V shape.
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Last edited by justinb904 at Dec 27, 2009,
Thanks for the responses guys but you may have to dumb it down for me as I don't quite understand some of your recommendations. Not sure if this amp has an FX loop, does anyone know?
ESP Horizon NT-II
Schecter Omen 6/AHB-1
Randall RG50TC
TS9/808 Plus Mod
MXR KFK 10-band EQ
Do you see jacks that say SEND and RETURN? Use the SEND to go to the input of the EQ, and the RETURN to take the output.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??