Hello, I am pretty new at guitar, but have reached a medium between beginner and intermediate. I can play some of easier intermediate songs like moon light sonata, but only with a lot of practice.

My question is, I pretty much learned finger picking from just experimenting, so since I have had no real good lessons or directions, I am worried that I may be beginning bad habits. I do know not to use the thumb for fretting and not to use the pinky for picking.

Is there any bad habits that are common for finger picking?

I do not even know my chords or scales, so when I read tabs that are based on them I have to look them up individually Does anyone know a good guide on learning the chords/scales quickly? I am looking for one that just has the straightforward chords and scales, along with good methods to quickly learn them.

Thanks
Learn chords, learn scales. Chords first. You mostly pick up chords as you use them. No point really studying a massive amount when you only use 20 of them regularly. I find practice to be the best way of learning chords.

As far as fingerpicking goes, it helps to learn how to do the picking where you just kinda squeeze your fingers shut and release and have them go back, not having to use muscles to put them back after a pick. I have a friend who has this really active way where she kinda reaches out and picks them. I guess it works but it looks like it would cause a lot of strain.
┌─┬──┬──┬──┬──┬──┬──┬──┬─┐
├─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬┤
├┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┤
Ultimate Guitar Set Up Q&A Thread─┤
├┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┴┬─┤
└─┴──┴──┴──┴──┴──┴──┴──┴─┘
heya