I have a brand new Epiphone G-400 faded SG, and the damn thing will not stay in tune at all. It still has the original strings that came on it, which I am sure are the cheapest ones Epiphone have.(They are going to be the first thing replaced) This guitar is going to be a project guitar anyway, but I am new to any mods. Is installing tuners a big deal?? I can do full setups on guitars and I know I will have to replace the nut at some point. I just need some advice as to which tuners I should buy.
look for locking tuners such as groover rotomatics, they stay in tune longer than the stock groovers
Locking tuners are good like he ^ said.

Also, changing tuners is really easy. Its a nut and a screw or two for each tuner.
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Schaller makes great locking tuners.

For the most part changing tuners is pretty easy but you may have to do some minor routering of the tuner holes to put new ones in. No big deal, you just might need to get a cheap circular file if the new tuners are a bit wider than the existing holes.

Would be an opportune time to change the nut and strings too.
Jackson: DKMG w/Zakk Wylde EMGs
Fender: Fat Strat HSS
Epiphone: Les Paul Custom w/SD Pickups
Dean: Performer E Acoustic/Electric
Vox: DA5
Vox JamVox
Digitech: GNX4 Workstation
Digitech: EX-7 Distortion Factory
Boss DR-880
MAudio Bx5a Deluxe
Do I really need locking tuners with a tune-o-matic bridge?? Although I am thinking of installing a Bigsby at some point. I have heard that the post holes are only 6mm and Grover tuners have a post width of 10mm.