Hi all, first off my gear is in my sig and I am using a Presonus Audiobox and Shure SM57 to record with, and I am using Cubase LE4 as the interface.

I have recorded a couple of songs, and I can get a really cool metal lead tone with everything, however I can't seem to get a nice thick crunch (think Machine Head) on the rhythm. This is the first proper audio interface I have ever had (got it all for christmas) so I am a bit of a noob when it comes to tinkering with the software EQ and mic placement etc.

Anyone got any ideas?
rightt ok
a few things straight away that hit me is
really quite a fizzy distortion ( that wall of sounds should be coming from a few well played takes) not one or two overly distorted guitars
also the distorted guitars kicked in and they were quieter than your clean bits thats going to suck the impact out, you'll want the clean quieter and the distorted parts louder , so basically swap there volumes
How are you micing the amp ie where are you placing the microphone, are you using some sort of overdrive to boost the amp, if so what overdrive? We need to find the problem before we give the solution here.
I am using a Shure SM57 and I have it placed about 5-10cm away and directly in front of one speaker of the amp. Here are my settings if it helps...

Amp:

Gain: 6
Bass: 7
Mids: 6
Treble: 5
Resonance: 9
Presence: 8

Bad Monkey OD:

Level: 10
Low: 10
High: 8
Gain: 0

GE-7 EQ:

+7
+7
So your micing from the center of the speaker? The positioning sounds right, as always with metal rhythm 3 inches from the grill at the center of the speaker.

Something sounds seriously wrong there, there's no body to that tone just fizz, I'd suggest you start from the top by taking away all the pedals, recording again and then adding them both in one at a time to find the problem, cos something is sucking out all your mids and bass. It might just be your amp but I doubt it, I've got much better tones than this with lower end Peavey amps before.