Hello All and Happy New Year, Recently on a show on the history chanel (pawnstars) a guy who said he used to tour with bands such as triumph and others was trying to pawn a (what he thought was a 1960) les paul, he wanted $25000 for it! the guitar was quite used (still beautiful) and he did'nt claim any famous attachments to it, so being that I'm not a guitar expert, even close! why such a heafty asking price? was 1960 special, and if so why?
lookaguitarplayingyeti?
Quote by yeti66
Hello All and Happy New Year, Recently on a show on the history chanel (pawnstars) a guy who said he used to tour with bands such as triumph and others was trying to pawn a (what he thought was a 1960) les paul, he wanted $25000 for it! the guitar was quite used (still beautiful) and he did'nt claim any famous attachments to it, so being that I'm not a guitar expert, even close! why such a heafty asking price? was 1960 special, and if so why?

Because it's an all-original almost-50-year-old Gibson Les Paul. That's why.

an all original 1957 Fender Stratocaster in baby blue will run about the same price nowadays.
partially its just supply and demand. And im sure theres lots of Les Paul collectors out there.
MY Music
AMPS:
Chute CC-04 2x12
GUITARS:
Fender American Deluxe Strat SSS (with DG-20's)
Martin Dx-1
PEDALS:
Big Muff Pi Tone Wicker
Keeley Mod Bluesdriver
Holy Grail Plus Reverb
MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Boss RC-2 Loop pedal
[quote="'[VictorinoX"]']Because it's an all-original almost-50-year-old Gibson Les Paul. That's why.

an all original 1957 Fender Stratocaster in baby blue will run about the same price nowadays.

Sure, They may be "Worth" it but I rarely see guitars sell for such prices on eBay. So what does that tell you?