I have a few questions, hope anyone can answer them.

First of all how long have you been playing before you went and made a song? I've been playing for a year now and I feel like i want to try and make something from myself, but the problem is I just can't get any idea or inspiration to make a song. When I play something I always keep thinking what if it already been made cause it sounds too simple (even tho i know nowadays nothing can be very original anymore).

Second is listening to alot of artist a bad thing? Cause i've been thinking maybe that's why I can't come up with something.(i know it maybe a dumb question but still.)

And last how do you get influenced by a band/musician. (another dumb question) Like for example I like Arctic Monkeys or RHCP, and I want to make something a little like those but I just don't know how to get an idea, must I learn alot of their songs or something?

I'm really at a wall right here.
I've been playing for 4-5 years and I haven't made a song yet. I have song ideas scattered in note books.. but never a complete one.

The way i'd get to sound like a certain band or artist is learn a lot of their songs, Learn their song writing patterns and every technique they use to play. Basically dissect their playing style. And, Listening to a lot of different artists isn't a bad thing at all. I wish I listened to more music, but i'm way too damn picky for my own good
Last edited by Nevermind1299 at Dec 28, 2009,
Quote by JoshOnLama
I have a few questions, hope anyone can answer them.

First of all how long have you been playing before you went and made a song? I've been playing for a year now and I feel like i want to try and make something from myself, but the problem is I just can't get any idea or inspiration to make a song. When I play something I always keep thinking what if it already been made cause it sounds too simple (even tho i know nowadays nothing can be very original anymore).