I seem to have a problem with my vocal chords getting dried out too easily. I've been singing for about 7 months now and recently started screaming.

I can sing all day long with no problem but I can only scream for like 10 minutes before my throat seems to get tired or dry or something and i can't do it for like a half hour.

It seems like my throat is getting dry but when i drink water, it doesn't really make a difference so maybe it's just tired? I feel like i tense up a lot when i scream so maybe it's just tired but I can't really tell. (I'm doing fry screaming btw.)

Anyone have any suggestions?
and it does also take time for your vocals to adjust, so go slowly into the process of screaming, try cutting from normal melodic singing, to screaming the chorus or verse switch off youll get it in no time.
Butcher
Screaming as in like metal vocals like harsh vocals? I used to get that, and even in the morning my throat is still dry feeling, but drink a lot of water and use a lot of the diagram and the way I sort of do it is by breathing out the scream if you understand what I mean. I use a lot of the diaphragm I suppose, or I guess a lot of air, and I'm really loud but I don't do any damage.
Yeah, I'm doing like lamb of god kind of screaming. Basically, i just need to keep practicing and my vocals will adjust?
The water that you drink doesn't help your throat for about 6 hours. So I would start drinking a lot more water all the time.
Quote by asfastasdark
+1. This man knows his ****.

Walker Rose.
Being hydrated has a lot more to do with water that you have been drinking all day. You can't expect to have a glass of water before a gig and stay hydrated.

That said, your description says that your throat is fine so long as you are singing, and can do it all day long. Then, after ten minutes of screaming, your throat is dry. That suggests, to me, that the problem isn't your lack of hydration, but is the behaviour that precedes the dry throat.