Hi,

I have been playing guitar on and off for about 2 years now. I am trying to take my guitar playing to the next level, by learning to improvise over a repeating rhythm.

I have learnt several scales (mostly pentatonic), but I cannot find information as to how i should impose these over the chords in a particular key.

Basically my question is this:-

If i have a chord progression in the key of Am which goes (Am C G D) for example; Do i play the Am pentatonic scale over Am only or can I play it over all the chords (if so are there any changes i need to make) or do i play Am pentatonic over Am and G major pentatonic over G etc..

Any help with this would be most appreciative
If it uses Am C G D, its in the key of Am which means that you will just use the Am pentatonic scale :] The key is NORMALLY the first chord, but its not always.
Bands I've Seen

Robert Randolph and The Family Band
Eric Clapton
Letz Zep
Arc Angels
Eric Clapton (At the Royal Albert Hall ;D)
Joe Bonamassa
Eric Clapton & Jeff Beck (at the O2 arena ;D)
The Bootleg Beatles
i sometimes improvise with a friend of mine.. If he plays Am C G D i stay with the Am scale but you can try to add some odd notes from different scales. Just try and see what sounds best
well the best way for you to learn is to play over them and see how they sound, that's what improvising's all about.

If all the chords stick inside the key of Am you can just stay in Am (which is what usually happens in rock and pop songs. But some kinds of music (like jazz) play chords in a more... illogical sense and then you really have to pay attention to the chords and relative keys and what not.

So firstly, familiarise yourself with your scales.
Record your chords and have them on a loop
Play over them and see how they sound
If you wanna go an extra step you can record your improv and hear how it sounds and where clashes occur

Hope this helps you become a nice improvisor
- Ibanez S470 (2004)
- late 70's vintage Fender Stratocaster (USA)