Page 1 of 2
Why? Why do you want that guitar/pedal/amplifier/mic etc..?

I'm a college student, and well music is my life (cliche I know) but god damn do I love making music. Granted I'm not in a band, yet, but I dont want to be here. I don't like my city anymore and I want to move, but regardless whether I get in one here or the next city I move to ( college and other reasons) does it matter? I like the gear I want ( and yes, I am going to buy it myself) and although I just play "in my four walls" as my parents say does it matter? My parents know its a hobby, and my parents know I LOVE my instruments, but it just kind of pisses me off. Its almost insulting. Seeing as this is a website for musicians I think its a fair question to ask the UG'ers. I know most of us would like to live the "rock star" dream and just make a living playing sold out arenas playing our music, but I think a lot of us are content just making our music, but is there a point where the gear you have is just " a waste of money" as my parents are politely trying to say?

In short: Is there a point where one is just wasting their money on musical instruments and everything involved, or is there a justified reason to have a certain amount of musical instruements etc.
Yes. My dad asked me why I wasn't fine with my MG. Why I wanted a new amp

Theres a justified reason. You need certain pieces of gear for recording, practicing, gigging, getting certain sound, etc. Plus, as a guitarist, you can never have to much gear
I'll pretend I can mod your amp but break it instead.
Last edited by guitarlord28 at Dec 29, 2009,
Quote by sticksause
"What's wrong with the guitar you have now?"

God yes. "Well, the new one would have EMGS and a Floyd, and 24 frets, so it'd be cool to-" "NO YOU DON'T!!!"
The playground of the world
Quote by sticksause
"What's wrong with the guitar you have now?"

My parents always pull that on me... i told them i wanted to swap out the HB in my strat the other day and they freaked lol.