i recently just got a Behringer U-Control UCA222 audio interface.

right now i have my guitar plugged into my ZOOM G1X effects pedal and then the output of the pedal into the Behringer U-Control input. when i play my guitar i get this awful sounding scratchy distortion, changing the settings on my pedal helps but i feel like im not getting the best sound i can out of my gear.

now when i open up Guitar Rig 4 and i go under audio and midi settings i can select the Behringer but when i do theres no signal showing on Guitar Rig 4. how can i fix this?

im still new to recording and audio editing so explanations and details would be very helpful
well first of all, there is no need to use an effects pedal if you are going to be playing through an effects vst such as guitar rig 4. that could probably be the cause of your excess noise. either that or your input gain is too high.
Check out my music on my profile
Quote by chad120
well first of all, there is no need to use an effects pedal if you are going to be playing through an effects vst such as guitar rig 4. that could probably be the cause of your excess noise. either that or your input gain is too high.

its not excess noise its just really scratchy, ill post a clip or something today, and this is WITHOUT Guitar Rig 4. When i turn on Guitar Rig 4 i dont even get a signal or sound!
There are a couple things that can be making this scratchy noise you are speaking of. One might be your master on your Zoom might be to high, thus clipping on input to your interface. 2) Are you using the correct cabling? Cable from your guitar to the FX unit must be unbalanced Fig.1 Cable from your FX unit to the interface must be balanced Fig. 2

Fig.1 Fig. 2