Hi, I'm a newbie when it comes to electric guitars and i'M planing to get one in the near future, but there are a few problems i need to solve.

I think everyone noticed that every style/group has its own representative guitars. for eg.
Go to youtube:
Guns N Roses are always covered with Epi/Gibson LP's
AC/DC - SG's
Metallica Ibanez/ESP's

Now it wouldnt be a problem to hop to the shop pickup some guitars try em out and buy.
But i read tones of times that they all kinda fit different styles of music, ( the wood, pickups, amps blah blah etc etc)
My question is what guitar could fit the most styles without having to buy tons of pedals, effects or any other stuff there is.
(guitar +amp)
I'd say my bugget would be around 600 bucks

It would also be ok if someone could explain me why havent i seen metal played with an LP? and vice vesa
Last edited by JosephVincent at Dec 31, 2009,
You can play anything with any guitar!

A Les Paul for example does GNR aswell as ACDC and Metallica if you have the right amp. Most people covering the songs are fanboys who play the same guitars as their Idols but it's not neccessary at all.

A Superstrat shape like an Ibanez RG or a Jackson Dinky should cover all styles fairly well but if you prefer a certain shape then go for it and don't let people tell you it can't deliver a certain sound...
i recommend a les paul, they are incredibly versatile
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Fender 300CE T-Bucket
Dean DOF ML [For Sale]
Marshall AVT 2000 valvestate
Ibanez modified turbo tube screamer
Digitech RP250
You should be careful with the word range. You should have put 'versatile' in the title. Range often refers to how many notes can be played, and for a guitar with large range i would have recommended an R36 Turbulence, but that one is not versatile at all.
I'm currently working on a system to generate MIDI from the motion of a guitar. More info coming soon.