I've been recording for a few years with the same setup : mic in behringer xenyx mixer - to the m-audio fast-track line in - to computer. I have mics for electric guitar and vocals. M-audio fast-track was perfect when I started, but now I just feel like there might be new audio interfaces out there with better quality/preamps to use with my condenser mic. I wanna keep recording one track at a time. Do you have any suggestions (price range between 200-400$)?
My dynamic mic is a shure sm57 and my condenser mic is a behringer T1 (christmas gift). I don't have studio monitors and I use average headphones (both part of my short-term plans to buy new, but aren't studio purpose monitors kind of exepensive genrally?). I heard the condenser mic was really good for the price (and I'm satisfied with it anyway), but I don't know what potential it really has since it is used with low budget gears.
your fast track has phantom power right? (48V) if so, try plugging straight into the fast track without the mixer in between. that should help a bit. besides that, with the fast tracks preamps, the biggest difference you could make would be the room you're recording in. a good sounding room will change more than upgrading a preamp for a behringer mic... and until you have a decent room, you won't notice your mic or preamps full potential, not matter how amazing they may be.

basically, without upgrading the mic, upgrading the preamp won't do a whole lot of good. and for any haters out there, that is not a blanket statement, that is just for TS's own situation.
So basically, if my room is not optimal for acoustic (like a vocal/acoustic booth), I'd better not get my expectations too high about sound quality, whatever the equipment . Kind of a bubble burst for low budget home-recordist. I have an entire room only for music, but no sound isolation whatsoever. Anyways...thx for the info, any other tips would be welcome.