I've played for a year now, I'm self taught and I think it is time for theory now that I've grasped the basics of the guitar. The style of music I want to create and play is something like metallica and trivium, metal. What kind of musical theory is going to help me best to play, create and understand this type of music ? I would appreciate if you guys could link something or just give me tips!
Quote by seljer
Music theory is not specific to any genre, it all applies!

It's true. Don't try and limit how much you learn...try and learn everything!
Quote by pjuckazz
Oh well :P any good links or tips where to start?

Knowledge of intervals would be a great place to start.

And as has been said, everything applies to everything!
ProTone Pedals: Attack Overdrive
Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
Well tritones are metally I guess... but you know... all theory applies...

EDIT: Check out ZeGuitarist's lessons...
Quote by theogonia777
and then there's free jazz, which isn't even for musicians.

Quote by Born A Fool
As my old guitar teacher once said: Metal really comes from classical music. The only difference is pinch harmonics, double bass, and lyrics about killing goats.
Last edited by Dream Floyd at Jan 1, 2010,
Simple brah, do like Kirk Hammett did, and go and slam down that NASTY
Em blues pentatonic scale, slap your KH Dunlop wah, and youll ask why you even
considered learning the other ones!

(Not trolling, just sounded funny in my head.)
I AGREE
Quote by pjuckazz
got that, but where should I start? There's so much in the internetz

thats where a teacher and or a book comes in handy.
shred is gaudy music
start by memorizing all the notes on the fretboard.
then learn intervals and the major scale.
then im not sure...

thats what im trying to doing right now
Guitars
Fender American Standard Strat 2008
Burny late 1980's Super Grade RLG-70 Les Paul