Hey Guys...

I've got about 3 years experience tabbing, and started taking lessons and learning theory in September. I have a pretty good grasp on what I need to practice, the only thing I don't have is a good method for ear training. Does anyone have any good tips that I can do alone? My lessons are only 30 minutes a week. Also, I would be interested in an computer progam but everything I read on google says they are scams and they don't work. Anybody who has used one successfully, please reccommend.

Thanks
Best form of ear training is to figure out songs without tabs. You can also do call and response, which is playing a note on the guitar, then singing it to yourself to make the connection. Then you're good with that, you can have your friends tell you a note to play, and you play it on the guitar. Once you've got the fretboard down, match a piano, meaning have someone play a key and then play it on the guitar.

It worked for me to just learn to play songs without a tab, though. After a while, you get used to hearing it and it becomes natural. Playing with other musicians is totally necessary as well, though, no matter which method you choose. Otherwise, applying it or doing it on the fly will be really tough.
Do you feel warm within your cage?

And have you figured out yet -

Life goes by?
Quote by Hydra150
There's a dick on Earth, too
It's you
Play songs I'd say.
When you play songs you learn what sounds like what on the fretboard.
And when you learn a song without a tab you can hear stuff you've heard before, and find your way to it.
Follow the smoke toward the riff filled land
brutal
Quote by brand1130
Hey Guys...