Im a guitarist who always wanted to play bass but cant afford a lefty.

I use heavy strings (14-62) and i can pop all six strings but i cant slap.

Any ideas/helpful tips?
[quote="'[VictorinoX"]THIS JUST IN: cramming batterys into orifices of your guitar will NOT make sustain any longer. This is considered instrument rape and is still illegal in 49 out of 50 states.

zoom 505 of the 90's was the best (after that they went down)
Last edited by Endoftheworldto at Jan 2, 2010,
You want to keep your thumb parallel to the strings and your hand an inch, maybe a little less above the strings. You want to hit the strings with the joint in the middle of your thumb. To hit the string flick your wrist, don't move your whole hand up and down. Hope this clears it up, if not there are loads of videos on youtube that might help you out.
So that with good courage we say, “The Lord is my helper. I will not fear. What can man do to me?”

-Hebrews 13:6
The one issue is i have big fingers (and thumb) and the strings spacing is very small and i always hit two or three strings at a time.
[quote="'[VictorinoX"]THIS JUST IN: cramming batterys into orifices of your guitar will NOT make sustain any longer. This is considered instrument rape and is still illegal in 49 out of 50 states.

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=494268

Is a good read on the subject. So...you are slapping on a guitar? It can be done but due to the spacing its going to take a bit of concerted effort and practice.
Quote by Endoftheworldto
The one issue is i have big fingers (and thumb) and the strings spacing is very small and i always hit two or three strings at a time.

Are you hitting the other strings with your palm or thumb? If it's your palm then move your hand farther away from the bass, not to far though. If it's your thumb then it will just take practice to work on it. Slapping is something that take practice to be able to do. It doesn't come naturally to most people. Good luck.