I was wondering if anyone can help me. I am new to bass but i used to play guitar so i am used to playing with a pic. I wasn't great so i didn't play fast but i am used to it. Now that i am playing bass, i am using a pick because A. I am used to it, but B. it is the only way i can get a tone i like.

Anyway, since i never played fast i am having trouble playing War by Burzum. I can play it on the fretboard but it is my picking hand that has problems. My thumb muscles start to cramp and i just can't keep it up. Does anyone know if my bass height affects this(im not an idiot so i know it could but i dont' think it is). I have my bass right center on my waist which feels natural for me. I don't know what i can do to build stamina. Any tips?
guitar solo - "meh, every song got one"
bass solo - "OMGZ0R U IS PRO MENZ"
it might be your posture on the picking hand. how are you holding it? also take it slow in the beginning. bass is a whole new instrument. takes some time getting used to.
♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪

Quote by Rune Playaz
I vote thycrusader for 'The guy who hit the nail on the head'

Quote by Emilyyy.
thycrusader = Thigh_Crusader
Quote by Rain_In_Blood
My thumb muscles start to cramp

I know exactly what you're talking about with the discomfort, but for me it's in my forearm that I get this almost burning.

Do you play with your picking hand anchored?

In any case, I feel like it's just a matter of playing more and developping those muscles and muscle memory
Quote by dullsilver_mike
..Bob Barker isn't dead.

Quote by The_Casinator
Nothing is impossible if you're on acid!

Quote by Holy Katana
What if the NES breaks? WHERE IS YOUR GOD NOW?
Quote by Rain_In_Blood
I was wondering if anyone can help me. I am new to bass but i used to play guitar so i am used to playing with a pic. I wasn't great so i didn't play fast but i am used to it. Now that i am playing bass, i am using a pick because A. I am used to it, but B. it is the only way i can get a tone i like.