Hey everyone, first of all, i hope you won't have any problem reading this, it's probably going to be quite long and english isn't my mother tongue so there will probably be some grammar mistakes.

I'm 15, I picked up a guitar in july 2008, it was a no-brand instrument and it sucked I couldn't take lessons (it wasn't a money problem, more like a time problem) so i just practiced alone when i could.

I started playing seven nation army's and smoke on the water's riffs the first day i got that guitar, then i always got gradually better until i could play seek and destroy in its entirety (except part of the solo).

For christmas my parents decided to buy me a new guitar, so i bought an Ibanez RG. It's awesome. I'm now practicing full songs since this summer i found a band to play with.

Now, i want to start taking lessons this january, and my parents are willing to let me do it too.

But there's a problem with my aunt. Today i was practicing Sum 41's Still Waiting (Ok, not exactly hard the band planned to play it) and she came there asking "what are you doing?" (she always see me practicing various songs, but this time i was repeating a lot of times the verse until i could play it at full speed without mistakes).
I said: "What do you think? I'm playing a song" and she's like: "oh, ok, i couldn't figure out" (Actually i was playing it perfectly)

She would keep saying that i shouldn't imitate (right...imitate ) guitar players without knowing anything about music and just reading tabs because i'm not actually playing.

Then she started talking about how i should watch and imitate (!!!) hendrix and clapton rather than sum 41 (of course she didn't know them, i explained her who they were, and also that i play other stuff like metallica). The conversation ended with me yelling at her (you know nothing about music!) after i proved she didn't know bands like sonic youth, jethro tull, king crimson, etc... but only pink floyd and led zeppelin.