Page 1 of 2
Hello everyone. I owned a Line 6 Spider III 150 watt combo for a year and a half, but I was fooled to get it by GC when I was a newbie. I realized how bad it sounded once I tried the tube amps out at GC a year later. Needless to say, I sold it 5 months ago, as it REALLY started to give me ear pains, and have had no amp since. I really miss having an amp, and now have the money to get it. Will you guys please help me?

I am hearing that the Jcm 800's cleans are sterile, but has great powerful distortion, but you have to really crank it. How does the Jcm 900 compare to the 800 in cleans and distortion? I was looking at the Jvm and loved the cleans, but the unit is rather pricey and I could use saving some money. You can get a Jcm 900 for fairly cheap, for it's quality,and I can get some great pedals with the money saved.. I really dig the unique Marshall sound, so please no other brands please.

So basically how is the JCM 900 overall. Are the cleans, and distortion very good? Can it easily get Metallica tones? How much does it have to be cranked to get these tones? I love all things Ozzy, Randy and Zakk, Metallica, G N R, Megadeth, ACDC etc..... Can any JCM 900 owners please chime in. Thanks to everyone for any help!
Last edited by modirnwarfare at Jan 3, 2010,
JCM800s sound sterile at low volumes, that's because it's a 50/100 watt amp that needs to be loud to rock n roll with.

900's are like boosted 800s with lower value, they don't sound as good, but they can do higher gain levels with the price of the lower gain sounding more boring.

You can easily get Metallica, Ozzy and GNR level gain with the 900 and 800.

I'd suggest trolling your craigslist to find a good used 800, but that's just my opinion
I'd personally recommend a JCM900 for you. Don't let anyone say they are bad amps, they are awesome amplifiers!