Well, I have been playing for two years and taking lessons for two years. At the moment, my skills are limited to pentatonics, and major scales, and Im just starting to grasp this whole "tonal centers" or modes as most of you call them. I can play my pentatonics at a decently fast speed, I have my tasty licks, I know the idea of tapping. What I want to work on, is Sweep Picking. Basically, I want some arpreggios to practise, like starting with 3-string and work up. Any ideas?
the only advice I can give you is to practise it really SLOOOOOWLY in the beginning. dont expect any improvement too fast.
http://www.vimeo.com/8148725

If you know theory you can find your own sweeps on the neck, just think of a chord then find the notes in the order of the chord on the neck in a position that's close together.
I'm not going to take the time to tab this out in this little text box. Why? If you're going to learn arpeggios you should be able to piece together triad chords and at least be <i>able<i> to find the notes on the fret board in many different positions.

Anyways, start with a personal favourite of mine of a Dm sweep arpeggio. I usually start out on the A on the 1st string. So go A,F,D and ascend back. Then after you have this cleanly add on up to the 4th string and end on F on your 4th string. Ascend back up. Got this down? Add on the D on the 5th string. And then you can screw around a bit. With this knowledge of how to do this and just playing around will open up more doors to you than just sweeping itself.

Understand?

And the reason I didn't give you any specific shapes is because I want you to think. What is an arpeggio and what notes are really making up what I play? How versatile can I be?
Quote by Christian Davis