So I've been looking for a decent distortion pedal that works for both rhythm and lead sections, and of course, the Boss DS-1 came up and I'm buying one within the next couple of days for next to nothing. I'm taking a serious influence from satch with the rig i want to build, and in doing my research into a distortion pedal, i know satch used to have a DS-1 and used it extensively.

However, i inevitably came across the satchurator, and, as satch describes, i want something similar to the 'More' button on his signature pedal. Are there any ways i can recreate this using a DS-1?

I've thought of a couple of ideas, but they're pretty basic and i'm pretty sure saint joe would have thought of them before, but would it do to have both a DS-1 and an overdrive pedal, and turn on the overdrive when i want 'more', or would using 2 DS-1s do just as well?

Bearing in mind i'm a student, a breed notorious for having very little money, but really, apart from splashing out for a Satchurator (which i probably will do eventually, but not for years), is there anything i can do to get my 'more' fix?

Diolch yn fawr iawn! (That's welsh for 'Thank You Very Much!', your reward for any assistance)
Quote by Rocker007
Blackrat has won this thread. That is an awsome post.

This was posted right after I posted said post in a completely different thread... Whups.

"There are 3 types of people in this world... Those who can count, and those who can't."
i don't know why you want the ds-1. imo its one of the worst sounding pedal i've ever played. what amp are you using? not all my suggestions will work well unless you've got a tube amp
I've only got a Spider II 30 at the moment, but i really don't like the distortions as much i used to, and i hooked up a DS-1 to it a while ago and simply loved it.

After a few years i'm definately getting either a Marshall JCM2000 or VoxAD50VT. There's no way i'll be getting an SS amp next, i've tasted tonal nirvana, and i just cant get it through SS