Hi, I'm a Mechanical Engineering undergraduate and this semester we have to design a product and my wandering mind settled on the topic of Guitar Hard Case. Specifically, I'm thinking of designing a case that will be more resistant to rough handling during air travel (inspire by United Breaks Guitars vid). We'll be modeling the design in CAD softwares and running Finite Element Tests such as impact testing (hopefully).

Since I never owned a hard case before, I'll turn to the experts. So what do you guys think are the features that a good, rugged hard case should have? Or something you always wished your faithful ole container can do or withstand.

Thanks in advance!
good clasps/hinges, i hate whenn they get bent and it gets off track
They think they know who I am....all they know is I love to kill.
Considering they make metal touring cases that every traveling band in the world uses... I think your idea is a bit flawed.

None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Last edited by nebiru at Jan 5, 2010,
wheels. And a 2-stroke engine, so you can drive it around the airport because you're flight's delayed and you need something to do.
Made of adamantium, for that extra security.
People are bastards. Bastardcoated bastards with bastardfilling.
Quote by nebiru
Considering they make metal touring cases that every traveling band in the world uses... I think your idea is a bit flawed.

Oh, no, another dead idea... but I think the lecturer is fine with modifying an existing idea. Anyway, I really doubt that he's even seen such a touring case.

Quote by SlackerBabbath
You ever seen a Samsonite suitcase? If you can make a guitar case like one of those, you'll probably be onto something.

Thermoplastics is an interesting idea. Thanks for the suggestion. The good thing is we don't need to make a prototype at all, everything is conceptual and on computer models.