Hey guys,

I've been doing some research and have been having some trouble coming to a certain decision about my guitar. I'm not that pleased with my tone, and I can point to my amp as a troublemaker (it's a randall rg50tc, alone it sounds quite muddy and fairly flat, opens up fairly nicely with an external eq).

If you want to skip the amp babble and eq settings and whatnot, go to the next bold text.

I'm thinking that even though a new amp would work well, I really don't have the money for that even if I sell the randall. I'm a rather-broke uni student, so saving for things gets a bit tricky.

I also don't have the space for an external closed-back cab in order to make it a bit punchier. I've attempted to use an overdrive to tighten the amp up and make it punchier as well, but all I get is a muddier mess, even fiddling with gain and volume.

Current settings:
Gain = 3.5
Bass = 5
Mids = 5.5
Treble = 7

Issues: bass is flubby, mids seem to be somewhat heavy, but manageable at around 5. Treble isn't pronounced all that much on this amp either. I've heard the amp through a mesa cab (2x12) loaded with V30's and it didn't appear to do much at all for a tone upgrade; almost neglibible.

Case in point: I think the amp has a very limited tone stack, in that the range is quite limited, and the amp is suited for downtuned music, especially metal, and is a fairly dark combo.

Using the external eq, I can get a clearer, more biting tone by adding high mids. However, it sometimes becomes a bit piercing, so I've been fiddling with the treble and it's just not giving me the sound I want.

Amp preamble ends here

Ruling out a new closed-back cab due to space limitations or even a new amp entirely due to money, I've decided that I should upgrade the pickups in my guitar (LTD MH100QM, blocked floyd so it's dive-only).

I've found the stock pickups to be somewhat bland, missing harmonics, possible sustain and general "oomph".