Page 1 of 2
Im considering buying the hot rod deluxe and ive hear so many people say that the drive on fender amps (aside from the supersonic) is horrible. Ive tried out the hot rod's overdrive channel a little and it doesnt sound that bad to me. Im not an expert though, and maybe it sounds different at higher volumes. (Ive only played it in a small music shop). I have a gibson SG and I play mostly classic rock but i need that clean tone. Could the drive channel ever be usable? Or would I have to buy a nice overdrive pedal?
You can get a nice crunch out of the drive channel if you turn it up nice and loud. Probably perfect for classic rock/blues actually.

That said, a pedal sounds better.
Quote by Ace88
Forgive me, O bastion of ear tuning. My stringeth be old, my tuning be quick; hopefully one day your string will snap you in the dick.
They're completely usable in my opinion, however tone is subjective. If it doesn't sound bad to you, then go for it. I personally loved my Deville's overdrive channel
Eh, it's not bad for the boring as hell, yet oh so popular Elevator blues type playing, or equally as boring arena rock of the early 80's. Can get fizzy if dialed wrong.

I'd honestly rather buy a Super Reverb and a few dirt boxes than a Hot Rod.

Quote by voteforpedro36
You can get a nice crunch out of the drive channel if you turn it up nice and loud. Probably perfect for classic rock/blues actually.

That said, a pedal sounds better.

Better is subjective. A clean boost would work fine in making it sound more present.

Quote by Tempoe
I have a Super-Sonic and the distortion "burn" channel is not that great, it has a loose sort of gain that suits some styles well, plenty of gain but just not tight like a 5150 or similar. The clean channel works well with a distortion pedal though.

Expecting 5150 type overdrive from an amp that says 'Fender' on the front is generally not smart.