I've been flatpicking and playing rhythm for about 3 years. I started playing solo gigs and wanted to pick up some fingerpicking to spruce up my style a little bit. I don't want to be a fingerpicking master, just play chord progressions with a fingerpicking pattern. I figure once i get that down, i'll try and master it a little more. Yall know any good links or have any idea where to find some instruction on this?
Try to pick for example the C-major chord up and down in a steady phase and then A-minor chord, E-major chord, A-major chord and so on I used to fingerpick every Major chord I knew up and down before I began to evolve.
If you want to you can try the solo in the song To be with you of Mr. Big There is some good tabs on it and a instructional video on youtube with Paul Gilbert himself explaning the solo. When you feel like it you can try to finger pick Paul Gilberts - Marine Layer
I had this Esteban instructional DVD that my mom had when she bought one of those crappy acoustics, and it actually had some decent stuff in it, especially for finger picking.

From what I remember, your picking hand is not going to be in-line with your wrist like with flat picking, but rather turned downward so your fingers are pointing straight down.

Then he assigned a home for each finger. The pinky on the 1st string, ring on the 2nd and middle on the 3rd. I think the index was assigned to the 4th and 5th with the thumb on the 6th. It may have also been thumb for 5th and 6th with index on 4th, but I really don't recall. But that's the concept. It's just a point that you aren't randomly picking strings with random fingers, or simply using your thumb and index to pick, which is nowhere near as effective.

Then the exercise was playing a series of notes that are very similar to Nothing Else Matters (Metallica) up and down over and over to build memory.
Last edited by Rocknawe at Jan 7, 2010,