I've had my XXX only a few weeks and have been very happy with it. Last week I moved into my new house. I had the amp inside while packing. I then carried it out to my jeep and left it inside the truck while I finished packing.It was very cold and windy, maybe 20 degrees F. When I arrived at the new place I carried it right inside. Yesterday I wanted to play a bit and the amp just has no tone. It sounds flat and the distortion is just fuzz. I tried all my guitars, bypassed the pedal board and it is the same. I assume the shock of the sudden tempurature change blew a tube.I am new to tube amps so not sure where to look.
Ihor

<current gear>
Epiphone Les Paul Standard+
PRS SE Custom 22
Washburn D10SK Acoustic
Peavey XXX Super 40
Boss NS-2, TU-2, MT-2, DS-1, SD-1
Did you try just using a single cable into the front of your amp? Are you sure its not your cabinet or the speaker cable? Check the tubes, are they all glowing evenly?
Originally Posted by StewieSwan
schtick_bomb is actually a Tare. An evil race of aliens from the planet Nibiru who have come to fight the power of Jesus Christ.

Tried the cable direct. Tubes appear to glow less brightly that normal but I am not sure.
Ihor

<current gear>
PRS SE Custom 22
Washburn D10SK Acoustic
Peavey XXX Super 40
try another cable? check to make sure all the tubes are seated properly and didn't shake loose during your move.
Tried everything, couldn't figure out the problem. I took it to a small local shop that is an authorized peavey dealer. I guess I'll see what they find.
Ihor

<current gear>
PRS SE Custom 22
Washburn D10SK Acoustic
Peavey XXX Super 40
Could it be simply your ear? I'm curious to know what the problem with the amp could be, or is just horrible acoustics. Just wanting to know because I've had the same situation before and the amp was fine, just a really crappy room....
I love all 5 (sold a couple) of my Carvin X-100b's.