I have a little blackheart killer ant head which has outputs for 4, 8, and 16 ohms.
I have a 10" cab with an 8 ohm speaker which has a jack to run another cabinet.

I built a custom box for a vintage jensen 12" which reads 6.5 ohms on my meter.

First question: when running just the 6.5 ohm speaker should I use the 4 ohm or the 8 ohm output?

Second: If I connect the 6.5 ohm 12" to the 8 ohm 10" cab and run them both what ohm output should I use?

thanks for any help.
Joe
always use the higher impedance so the 6.5 ohm speaker would round up to the 8 ohm output. As far as both speakers if they are connected in series (which i'm assuming they are) the the impedance like resistance is added so you would use the 16 ohm output.

I am no expert on this matter and would suggest hearing from other people also but this should work.
Deacon of Zeppelinism PM TheHeartbreaker to join
speed demon of the UG Jeepers
Member of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM Hamish5178 to join~
Quote by riffmasterjosh
always use the higher impedance so the 6.5 ohm speaker would round up to the 8 ohm output. As far as both speakers if they are connected in series (which i'm assuming they are) the the impedance like resistance is added so you would use the 16 ohm output.

I am no expert on this matter and would suggest hearing from other people also but this should work.

Thankyou, That is what I thought but just want to make sure, I have had the 12" cab into the 8 ohm out for about 15 minutes, I found an old Jensen P12Q dated 1958 in an old hammond cabinet.. After a short listen it sounds better than the weber 10A125 I have in the other cab.
PM Phil Starr, a cabinet designer.

Shooting from the hip:
1. Run the 6.5 ohm cab at 4 ohms from the amp.
2. Since the 2 cabs will present a 3.586 ohms load, setting the amp at 4 ohms might stress the amp and the volume will be lower.

Quote by Ippon
PM Phil Starr, a cabinet designer.

Shooting from the hip:
1. Run the 6.5 ohm cab at 4 ohms from the amp.