No matter what I try to do, the information just doesn't stick in my head.. I'm trying to do just one string, and what I'm mainly doing is just saying the notes all the way to the octave, repeating them backward, then just memorizing the notes on the fretmarkers. I'm not sure if what I'm doing is right though.. Any tips on how to get this done faster?

Also, I'm trying to dedicate myself more and what I'm doing right now is just refining my technique (can't learn songs because my ear is bad and I don't wanna use the cheap way and play TABS). Should I just memorize and play scales and then add bends, hammer-ons and pull-offs?

And last but not least, how do I go about ear training? There's a website I know with an ear trainer, but it just seems so weird to me seeing as the notes aren't played in order and I'm a total newbie.. The concept of intervals is just really hard to grasp on guitar.. I know I should be counting half-steps, but for example, on Youtube there's videos on guitar, but most of them say things like "that's a minor 3rd down" how exactly do they know what note that is that quickly? It just doesn't make sense. How do you know which notes are minor, major, augmented, or diminished?

Thanks in advance. I'm beat. I'll read the responses when I get the time.
Quote by Cflobucket
No matter what I try to do, the information just doesn't stick in my head.. I'm trying to do just one string, and what I'm mainly doing is just saying the notes all the way to the octave, repeating them backward, then just memorizing the notes on the fretmarkers. I'm not sure if what I'm doing is right though.. Any tips on how to get this done faster?

Also, I'm trying to dedicate myself more and what I'm doing right now is just refining my technique (can't learn songs because my ear is bad and I don't wanna use the cheap way and play TABS). Should I just memorize and play scales and then add bends, hammer-ons and pull-offs?