At the moment, i have been playing for a few months, and the genre of music that i want to play, but i know i can't achieve the perfect sound i want.

The type of music i would like to play would be along the lines of:
A Day To Remember
Bring me the horizon
Dance Gavin Dance
Parkway Drive
As i Lay There Dying etc..

I know that the way they sound is in Drop C tuning, mainly palm muting.
But at this moment, i am using a:

Ibanez GRG170DX
GHS Boomers (Strings 10-52)
Line 6 Spyder (Settings are set to perfection)

But, i am still not getting that nice sound grit :/
I really need to find something that i can get a nice gritty tone, but at the same time, have a set up that gives me the perfect harmonics. (Example, A Shot In The Dark - A Day To Remember, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXdAS6AofsM 1:29 into the song)

I have done alot of research and found that the "LandMine LD-1" is pretty good for what i need, or even the "Metal Muff" Stomp boxes are highly recommended.
Does anyone know what i need to achieve the perfect sound i have been craving for since i first played my guitar?

Thanks you guys.
Josh
Last edited by JoshhIBANEZ at Jan 10, 2010,
A new amp would be a much better investment. No setting on the spyder is 'perfection' by a long shot and it doesn't accept pedals well at all.
new amp
Gibson Les Paul Standard 2004
Fender Telecaster Custom 72RI 2009
PEDALZ
Ashdown Fallen Angel 60DSP
Fender Blues Junior
Ashton MPA100
Not very helpful replies for a guitarist of a few months there fellas.

Yes, a new amp would be vital. More or less. But there are several things to bear in mind

The amps that are used to achieve the sounds of those bands (or the majority of bands for that matter) are very much more expensive than your spyder and vast overkill for the maturity of your guitar playing life. Dual recifiers, Engls, Diezels, Bogners, Marshalls (real marshalls not toys like MGs and AVTs), etc etc etc