So, I started learning this song "Break" by Three Days Grace last night. It is the first song I have ever played in drop D, everything else has been standard. Anyway, most of the sing is simply barring the low E, A and D strings, playing a chord. Is this not the exact same thing as playing a power chord in standard? (example, F is 1-3-3 in standard, would this be 3-3-3 in Drop D?) It's easier to play if this is the case, but is that really the whole reason bands use drop D, for simplicity?

Another example, is another part of the song is power chord on the third fret of A, fifth fret D and G. I have seen other tabs which say to play this 10-10-10 on E, A, D. Again... Same thing but a different way to do it?
I don't really understand the question you are asking.

Yes, you're are doing Drop D chords right. Yeah, most bands use it for that simplicity.
Quote by rmr024
Well, in California, people carry around devices that control the minds of bears. So expect to see people walking their bears.

Also, don't be surprised if some robot hookers try to solicit sex to you on the streets.
Quote by potatohead_33
So, I started learning this song "Break" by Three Days Grace last night. It is the first song I have ever played in drop D, everything else has been standard. Anyway, most of the sing is simply barring the low E, A and D strings, playing a chord. Is this not the exact same thing as playing a power chord in standard? (example, F is 1-3-3 in standard, would this be 3-3-3 in Drop D?) It's easier to play if this is the case, but is that really the whole reason bands use drop D, for simplicity?

Another example, is another part of the song is power chord on the third fret of A, fifth fret D and G. I have seen other tabs which say to play this 10-10-10 on E, A, D. Again... Same thing but a different way to do it?

Indeed a lot of bands use it for simplicity, mainly for the guitarplayers.
by barring it, you have your pinky or other fingers available to add some higher