I've been playing guitar on-off for 6 years, but over the past year have been taking my playing more seriously and progressing as a player as i have rediscoverd my love. I've recently joined a band & got myself a decent amp, but i've got a problem. The guitar that i'm using is a budget £140 ibanez Gax30 (not the most sophisticated of guitars) but i like the action, look and simplicity of the model. So my question is: is it worth me changing the pickups on my guitar or investing in a new ones? the neck humbuckers are abit muddy and i dont think the current pickups are gunna cut it live. With a tight budget, if i could invest in some pickups to improve my tone and not spend £300-400 on a new guitar would be my ideal situation. can someone help? I play hard rock, that alexisonfire/biffy tone. cheers x
Yeah, I changed the neck and bridge pickups on my strat to great effect. Check out the pickup selector tool on Dimarzio's website. That should help point you in the right direction.
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Last edited by justinb904 at Jan 8, 2010,
Personally, I'd take the money you were going to use for PUs, sell your guitar, add a few more dollars on top and move up a notch or two in guitar quality.
The money spent on PUs in your current guitar may improve tone but will not increase it's value (ie when you sell it'll still be only worth what you paid for it basically). The choice is yours of course but just remember there'll come a time (not too far off in the future from the sounds of it) when your Gax30 won't be enough for you. If you upgraded the PUs they should removed the originals re-installed before selling it. The question then becomes what to do with the PUs, sell them used or put them into your next guitar which if you really buy a better one, may not need them.
I guess it's a question of short term pain for long term gain vs quick and easy short trm solution.