There are so many damn amps out there, and I don't know how to go about choosing one. There are lots in general, but there are also a lot to choose from that are for the music I like, which is metal.

I see people using Peaveys, Mesas, ENGLs, and etc.

How would you go about choosing which is the one you want? I mean, play them, obviously, but I'm not good with tones at all.

Price isn't an issue.

Thanks.
Generally, a lot of people will come on here, and ask for suggestions. Based on what you play, what you do and some other stuff, people can generally recommend you amps that will be good for the sounds you want and your budget. If you want to do it on your own, just pick out some riffs or songs, or whatever you want to play, then go to your nearest guitar shop and just plug in to as many amps and toy with them.

If you want some recommendations from people on here, answer these few questions. People are going to give recommendations, but that doesn't mean it's going to be the perfect amp for you. Generally, people look at the recommendation on sites like Musiciansfriend.com for comparison on prices, then go try them out if they are interested. That's the best way of picking an amp in my opinion.

Budget? (already established it's not an issue, but what's the maximum so people don't recommend you $5k amps since price isn't an issue)
Genres?
Gigging?
Willing to go used?
Location? (Or nearest main city for craigslist findings)
Fender '04 Strat
MiM Sunburst with Maple Neck

Ibanez TS-808
Fender Blues Junior
Marshall JTM60
Last edited by Shiromar at Jan 8, 2010,