So this is a new year for me to really improve in my guitar playing, but Im having trouble progressing. I've been playing for about 3 years yet I haven't progressed a lot, I've just been playing around with my guitar but not practicing consistently. I want this year to be the most successful. I also want to learn songs from the following bands that have influenced me: Pantera, Bad Brains, Suicidal Tendencies, Suffocation, Slayer, Exodus, Morbid Angel, Sepultura, Metallica, Black Sabbath, Misfits, Death, Cro Mags, Black Flag, Napalm Death, Carcass, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, Crowbar, Ozzy Osbourne, Minor Threat, Testament, In Flames Parliament/Funkadelic, DRI, Cannibal Corpse, Motorhead, Discharge, At The Gates, Zapp/Roger Troutman, Black Dahlia Murder,Nirvana, AC/DC, Guns N Roses, Motley Crue.

The things is though Im not sure if I should use the tabs on this website or learn by ear? I also dont really understand the basics of scales or using a metronome/note duration and Im having a hard time figuring out a practice schedule I could use to help me get better?

Please everyone, Im wanting this to be a serious question/answer thread because I really want to progress as a musician and am having a hard time getting there.

thanks you for your help
start off with tabs and chord sheets, start with songs from your favourite artists or songs you know very well as you will know the rythem better, then when you get confident try learn it by ear, lnowing what tuning the guitarist uses commonly will help you learn by ear quicker