Guys I've been trying to develop finger independence and I was wondering if there was anything that I could do that would not require the guitar while Im walking around or waiting in line etc.

I have a Grimpmaster finger exerciser, i was wondering if there are exercises I could do with that and what they are.

Also if there are any other exercise that I could do that would build my third and pinky finger.

Everytime I try to bend the pinky finger my third finger bends at the same time...why?

How do I develop sending the impulse only down the finger I want and not any other fingers? It seems I cant help but stop myself from moving other fingers while trying to move one finger. I notice alot of unnecessary tension when i try to fret with the third finger, i use my right hand and feel the other fingers and notice that the first and second fingers are TIGHT and stiff and not loose. I cant seem to isolate sending power down one finger.

Sometimes I tape all my fingers except the third and fourth finger this way they dont move and I start to feel the difference between moving my third and forth finger. Does anyone else tape fingers they dont want to move together and practice the ones they want to build independence in?

Most importantly what is the best way and fastest way to develop finger independence, through using the finger gripmaster tool. OR doing patterns on a guitar itself?
I'd say you could do these on both guitar and your exercise tool, with your exercise tool the numbers would indicate your fingers:

1 2 3 4
1 2 4 3
1 3 2 4
1 3 4 2
1 4 2 3
1 4 3 2

and just do that pattern starting with your 2nd finger, then 3rd, then 4th

pretty easy to figure out
One exercise you could do is just tap your fingers on a wall or something in a weird order.

And your 3rd and 4th fingers want to move together because they are linked by a common tendon. Through strength training and independence training you can get over it.
Quote by Geldin