I've been playing in a band for about 3 or 4 months now but I have been playing bass for about 8 years but I digress, we have written a few songs and I have the basic bass lines down for what the guitar player is playing...but I have a hard time coming up with stuff that sounds interesting to go along with our songs. Should I try to make my parts a little more complex, if so how do I go about this, or should I keep it simple and just make sure I'm in sync with the drummer and do nothing too overly fancy? Any opinions you guys have would help me a ton. Thanks
What might help you is to experiment in the way you utilize rhythm in your bass playing. But also with the way you improv along with band mates a couple of times during the songs (with keeping time of course) to find better bass lines.

With the rhythm part use subdivision to an extent to what the guitar players doing or do the opposite and play longer note increments to what the other player is doing. Use a mixture of this. It can always give greater depth to songs when done right. What I say is to go with your instinct on what sounds good and what should be thrown out all together.
Last edited by guitarbreaker at Jan 9, 2010,
listen to bands you like and see what their bassist does

bass can easily be dull when rolling allong on one note for ages, i make it more interesting by keeping the power chord shape, going on the root, fifth, then the octave, and slide around on the higher octave depending on the chord being played on the higher octave, if that makes any sense...

experiment!
Try odd rhythms and note choices.

Ibanez SR506BM
Ashdown Little Giant 1000w
Peavey TVX 115+410
A big ass upright