i don't know if this would be the right place to put this, but me and some friends are going to making a recording program, and later would like to be able to convert the music we put in, into music notation, and maybe have it do some other cool things. Currently we have not picked a language, because we haven't found many with good audio commands or options. So far our choices are, C++,C#,Java, and Python. Does anyone here know which would be best, and maybe have some tips as to how to get started?
I personally love python, I just dont know how youd go about doing something like that... (im not a good programmer by any stretch.)
Quote by MightyAl
A girl is a mythical creature, somewhat akin to a unicorn, or chimera.
They don't really exist, but it would be cool if they did.
python +1
last.fm
"If I could prove by logic that you would die in five minutes, I should be sorry you were going to die, but my sorrow would be very much mitigated by pleasure in the proof."
G.H. Hardy
Quote by Survivalism
Doesn't Guitar Pro do that?

maybe, but the whole idea is we do this as a school project, plus have some fun making it, so that later we can edit it how we want.

Also, we plan to start with something simple, record sound, play it back. Then we add other features of record and play back, such as multiple tracks ect. Once we finish we do a spectrum analyzer to match sounds with notes, and we then have an option to show your tracks in music notation. Other features will be added after that.
Do you know those languages or are you going to be learning them from scratch because that'll take a loooooooong time if you dont know them already :/and if you did, i'd assume you'd know which one to use. But good luck, I hope they give you a long time to do it.

P.S Java/Python
Gear:
Squier Strat (modded)
Vintage SG
ESP-LTD Alexi 200
Epiphone Explorer Goth
Les Paul Build
Flying V Build
EH Metal Muff
Dunlop Cry Baby GCB95
Ashdown Fallen Angel 40