Well the bottom line is, I'm tired of being a newby guitarists who can't really do anything but improvise to silly jam tracks and play songs that other people have created. I want to be as good as my idols, but I really just don't know what exactly to practice.

I've taken the first steps and gotten a teacher, and I've been playing 2-6 hours a day for about 10 months now. I fully understand that most people aren't born shredding and thrashing like madmen with a flying V haha, but I just want to know how much time a person puts into their instrument to get to the level of my idols (Dimebag, Gilbert, Hendrix, Schuldiner, Friedman, Satriani, etc....)? How the hell did they do it??

I'm not really sure what I'm asking you guys, I guess what it really comes down to is practice, practice, practice... I just kinda seem like I'm not getting anywhere. =(
at least 4 I would say (slash0 although John Fruscainte of the chili peppers played around 12 hours a day, although it doesnt make much snese to force yourself to play, it would ratehr ruin teh fun
It takes a while. Hell, I've been playing for over 5 years now, and I still feel like a noob sometimes.

Don't give up though! The outcome is worth it.

I can tell you what usually happens for me.

It doesn't seem like my playing ability is constantly climbing uphill. What usually happens, is I'll be at about the same ability level for a while, then all of a sudden, I'll make drastic leaps in my skill. I know a few others who had it happen that way too. Its almost like I'll learn a ton of stuff in my sleep, and be better overnight.

Not everyone is like that though. Just keep at it. I guarantee that Satch wasn't the Satch that we know and love today after just 10 months of playing!
Quote by rmr024
Well, in California, people carry around devices that control the minds of bears. So expect to see people walking their bears.

Also, don't be surprised if some robot hookers try to solicit sex to you on the streets.