So I have been playing acoustic for about 3 years and I have decided I want to do more electric playing....(other than on my crappy strat copy)

So I need an electric guitar.......I play mostly classic rock you know 60s Beatles,Kinks, Rolling stones etc

So what would work for me?

Price Range up to $2000
With that kind of budget I would look at a Gibson Les Paul. But, I also advise you go out and look at and play every guitar you can get your hands on. Do not pay that kind of money for anything sight unseen.
Bhaok

The following statement is true. The proceeding statement is false.
Either a Les Paul Standard or the best strat you can get your hands on. Word of advice when it comes to gibson: never order off the internet. They've had some fairly serious quality control problems lately (because their CEO thinks they should just raise prices instead of fixing the guitars) so it's a good idea to play the EXACT guitar you're going to buy before you buy it. As in take it out of the box and inspect it BEFORE you pay for it. Come to think of it, that's a good policy for buying ANY guitar.
Quote by dr_shred
FrustratedRocka you are a legend

Quote by littlephil

The man clearly knows his shit.

Quote by Banjocal

one of the best, educated and logical posts I've ever seen on UG in the Pit. Well done good sir.
Quote by Bhaok
With that kind of budget I would look at a Gibson Les Paul. But, I also advise you go out and look at and play every guitar you can get your hands on. Do not pay that kind of money for anything sight unseen.

I sort of want that old guitar sound like the very early begginings of the beatles and kinks

But you are right also it is $2000 AU so its probably about $1500 american
Look at the high-end (Made in Japan) Tokai's aswell - regarded by many to be better than Gibson's (its all personal preference, but for me they come pretty close)...

http://www.tokai-guitars.co.uk/index.php?page=shop.browse&category_id=14&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=31