HolyYetti
Rochelle, Rochelle
Join date: Apr 2008
371 IQ
#1
All right, so I've just set up my laptop with audacity, I've managed to plug my amp into my laptop via the speaker output, and using an adapter on a cable to allow it to be plugged in to the microphone input on my laptop. I've set my audacity preferences to record the "line in" sound, and it's doing it's job. The only problem is that there is always running static behind everything I'm trying to record.
How can I get rid of/minimize the amount of static being recorded, so that my recordings dont sound like complete shit?
huskyplayer
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2008
78 IQ
#2
i had the same problem but i fixed it with a better/longer cable...thts all i can tell you
Crazyxadamx
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2010
187 IQ
#5
If you are using single coil pickups or just cheap humbucker's it may just be natural electrical static coming off the laptop, try playing further away.
ethan_hanus
The BKP Guy
Join date: Nov 2008
5,267 IQ
#6
Problem number one: Your using Audacity, its horrible, get at minimum a DAW, such as Reaper.
Problem number two: Your going guitar into mic input, your soundcard is not designed to convert a guitar signal efficiently, thus, horrible sound quality and insane buzz.
Problem number three: Your using Audacity.
Problem number four: You need a preamp or an interface before you can send it to your computer, something thats line level, otherwise, your getting a lousy sound quality, and it causes your CPU to run harder, and running your CPU at 100% is very bad for it, you can fry it that way. And it can also fry your sound card if your guitar is too high output or you use a pedal in the chain.

Take my advice and read up on the stickies at the top of this form.

EDIT: Wait, your using the speaker out on your amp and recording it into your soundcard?!?!?!

DO NOT DO THAT, YOU WILL FRY YOUR SOUNDCARD!!!!
Last edited by ethan_hanus at Jan 16, 2010,
HolyYetti
Rochelle, Rochelle
Join date: Apr 2008
371 IQ
#7
Good advice, duly noted
I just don't really feel like dishing out money for a recording program as I don't really know where this is going exactly, but I'll check out a preamps/interfaces and read more of the stickies
Thank you sir
Kid_Thorazine
Registered Sadist
Join date: Jul 2004
267 IQ
#9
Quote by HolyYetti
All right, so I've just set up my laptop with audacity, I've managed to plug my amp into my laptop via the speaker output, and using an adapter on a cable to allow it to be plugged in to the microphone input on my laptop. I've set my audacity preferences to record the "line in" sound, and it's doing it's job. The only problem is that there is always running static behind everything I'm trying to record.
How can I get rid of/minimize the amount of static being recorded, so that my recordings dont sound like complete shit?


That was tupi, ou can blow your amp. Also usig any kind of adapter>built in soundcard setup is going to resut in noise, get a recording interface.

Quote by ethan_hanus
Reaper is completly free, which is why I and most of UG use it, and it is a very good DAW.


No it isn't it has an unrestrced demo, but if you use it for longer than the registration perod yo're supposed to pay the (extremely modest license fee)
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
Last edited by Kid_Thorazine at Jan 16, 2010,
HolyYetti
Rochelle, Rochelle
Join date: Apr 2008
371 IQ
#10
Okay so what if I plug the speaker input from my amp into a mixer and then the mixer into my laptop, is that any better or is at just as stupid?
ethan_hanus
The BKP Guy
Join date: Nov 2008
5,267 IQ
#11
Quote by HolyYetti
Okay so what if I plug the speaker input from my amp into a mixer and then the mixer into my laptop, is that any better or is at just as stupid?



Its not as stupid, but still fairly stupid, you'll blow the sound board. Dont use your speaker out to record, that jack is specificly only for adding a Speaker Cab to your amp, it has a very high output that most equipment can't handle, only speakers, unless you get a load box, that would be your only solution if you want to use the speaker out.

Either get a interface and a mic, or a load box and a DI box.

^ Yes, Reaper is supposed to cost money, but I've been using the evaluation version for over 250 days, still havent forked out a dime.
Kid_Thorazine
Registered Sadist
Join date: Jul 2004
267 IQ
#13
Quote by ethan_hanus


^ Yes, Reaper is supposed to cost money, but I've been using the evaluation version for over 250 days, still havent forked out a dime.


Yeah, you'd might as well just illegally download Cubase or something if you're going to do that though, as you'd be doing essentially the same thing.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm